企业家誓言| Entrepreneur’s Credo

Entrepreneur’s Credo

<Common Sense>, written in 1776 by Thomas Paine

《企业家》杂志首刊

I do not choose to be a common man,
It is my right to be uncommon…if I can,
I seek opportunity….not security.
I do not wish to be a kept citizen,
Humbled and dulled by having the state looking after me.

I want to take the calculated risk;
To dream and to build,
To fail and to succeed.
I refuse to barter incentive for a dole;
I prefer the challenges of life
To the guaranteed existence;
The thrill of fulfillment
To the state of calm Utopia.

I will not trade freedom for beneficence
Nor my dignity for a handout.
I will never cower before any master
Nor bend to any threat.

It is my heritage to stand erect,
Proud and unafraid;
To think and act for myself,
To enjoy the benefit of my creations
And to face the world boldly and say:
This, with God’s help, I have done.

译文:

我不会选择做一名普通人。
自命不凡是天赋人权——只要我能。
我寻求机遇,而非安稳。
我也从不愿去做顺民,
在国家的保障下变得卑躬沉沦。

我要尝试那精心的冒险;
去梦想也去创造,去失败也去成功。
我拒绝失去激励而获得救助;
我宁愿接受生活的挑战,不甘心保有确定的现状;
成就带来的欣喜远比乌托邦式的平静更令我向往。

我不会为福利而牺牲自由;
也不会为施舍而放弃尊严。
在任何大师面前我不会胆怯;
在任何威胁面前也决不屈服。

我的天性是昂然挺立,自豪无惧;
按照内心的方式敢想敢为。
我享受自我创造产生的果实;
坦然面对这个世界,然后说:
此生,拜上帝之助,我有所作为。

——————————————–

Charles Dickens <A Tale of Two Cities>

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way–in short, the period was so. far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

狄更斯同志的《双城记》译文:

那是最美好的时代,那是最糟糕的时代;那是智慧的年头,那是愚昧的年头;那是信仰的时期,那是怀疑的时期;那是光明的季节,那是黑暗的季节;那是希望的春天,那是失望的冬天;我们全都在直奔天堂,我们全都在直奔相反的方向–简而言之,那时跟现在非常相象,某些最喧嚣的权威坚持要用形容词的最高级来形容它。说它好,是最高级的;说它不好,也是最高级的。

Reference: <公司的力量>

Leave a comment